Leadership Dayton to recognize outstanding volunteers, celebrate 45 years at Annual Meeting

DAYTON, Ohio – At its upcoming Annual Meeting, Leadership Dayton, a program of the Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce, will celebrate its 45th year and recognize two outstanding organizations and two individuals who have helped further its mission.

This year, Leadership Dayton will award the following:

Outstanding Community Board Service Award – Kurt Lenhart ’17, Brigid’s Path
Leader of the Year – The Honorable Anthony Capizzi ’89, Montgomery County Juvenile Court
Volunteer of the Year – Brittany Healea ’19, a posthumous recognition
Program Partner of the Year – KTownsend Consulting, Dr. Karen Townsend ‘95

Through their active contributions to Leadership Dayton and beyond, these volunteers and organizations have made a significant difference in the Dayton community.

The Leadership Dayton Leader of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Program Partner awards were designed to recognize exceptional individuals and organizations in the Dayton region that have made significant and notable contributions toward the betterment of our community.

Leader of the Year is someone who has exemplified outstanding leadership in the community.

Volunteer of the Year is a Leadership Dayton member who has exemplified outstanding spirit and volunteerism with Leadership Dayton.

Program Partner is a company of organization that best provides ongoing support to Leadership Dayton creating a strong partnership.

The Outstanding Community Board Service Award recognizes a Leadership Dayton graduate who has excelled in the board match position, which is made for each graduate upon completion of the Leadership Dayton program.

Each year, Leadership Dayton chooses a class of approximately 50 community leaders who complete nearly a year of programming aimed at exploring our region’s history, culture and current service needs in order to help the class better serve its community. At the end of the 10-month experience, class members are matched with an area nonprofit board, allowing the graduate to continue their community service work into the future.

This year’s honorees will be recognized at the 2021 Leadership Dayton Annual Meeting on October 20, 2021 at The Contemporary Dayton, 25 W. 4th Street, Dayton, OH 45402; 5:15p-6:30p.

The Dayton Area Chamber is excited to announce this year’s Leadership Dayton Annual Meeting speakers are Eva Butacavoli, Executive Director, The Contemporary Dayton, and Michael Goodson, Curator.

About Leadership Dayton
Leadership Dayton is a program of the Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce, established in 1976. The mission of the program is to identify, educate and motivate a network of community leaders, to increase the individual’s capacity to serve the Dayton region, and to advocate continual engagement in support of the Dayton region.

Download a PDF version of this release.